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THE COLORADO RIVER

This 233-mile stretch of the Colorado River has become a year-round recreation area
for power boaters, paddlers, water-skiers and fishermen. To enjoy a safe trip on the
Colorado, boaters need to become familiar with the characteristics of the area that make

boating on this desert waterway unique.
Operator Age,
Education
and Supervision

The state lines of California, Nevada and Arizona intersect in the Colorado River
area. While many boating laws are the same in each state, a few laws differ and can be
confusing to boaters.

The California Department of Boating and Waterways, Arizona Game and Fish
Department and the Nevada Department of Wildlife teamed up to publish this Boating _
Safety Guide to provide basic information which will assist you in planning a safe and . . All
enjoyable trip on the Colorado River.

Arizona
Watercraft With Motors Greater Than 8hp:

The operator must be at least 12 years of age. An operator
under the age of 12 must have direct on board supervision
by a person who is at least 18 years old.

California

Watercraft with motors greater than 15hp and
sailboats exceeding 30’ in length: Operator must be
at least 16 years old. Operators between the ages of 12 -15
must have a person 18 or older on board for supervision.

b - -

Nevada
Motorboats with motors of 15hp or greater
on interstate waters: Any operator, born on or
after Jan. 1, 1983, must possess proof of completion
of a NASBLA approved boating course if operating on
Nevada’s interstate waters, including but not limited to

Lake Mead, Lake Mojave, Lake Tahoe, Topaz Lake and
Sections of the Colorado River System.

PWC: The operator must be at least 14 years of age
and comply with the requirement above.

Watercraft:

One type I, IL, IT1, or V life jacket (of proper size and fit) for
each person on board. Vessels 16' or longer must carry at least
one type IV life jacket, except canoes and kayaks.

One type L, IL, IIT or V life jacket (of proper size and fit) for
each person on board. Vessels 16' or longer must carry at
least one type IV life jacket.

(except sailboards): One Type L, I, III, or V life jacket (of
proper size and fit) for each person on board. Vessels 16'
or longer must carry at least one Type IV life jacket.

A person, age 12 or younger, must wear a Type I, I, III, Life
jacket while the vessel is underway. When wearing a life jacket,
all closures must be secured according to the manufacturer’s
design.

11 and under must wear Type I, II, III, or V life jacket when
on vessel of 26' or less while underway.

Children under 13 must wear a life jacket when
the watercraft is underway, except when inside an
enclosed cabin.

Each person on board must wear a life jacket.

Each person on board must wear a Type I, I, IIT or V life
jacket.

The operator and all passengers must wear a life jacket.

Each person being towed must wear a life jacket, buoyant belt,
or other flotation aid. If a buoyant belt or flotation aid is used, a
life jacket must be on board the towing vessel for each person
being towed.

Each person being towed must wear a Type I, II, II1, V life
jacket.

Each person being towed must wear a life jacket.

International orange or red ski flag, at least 12" by 12." Ski flag
must be prominently displayed (ONLY) when a skier is down or
in the water preparing.

International orange or red ski flag, at least 12" x 12"

International orange ski flag, at least 12" x 12."

Must be on board towing vessel and at least 12 years old.

Must be on board towing vessel and at least 12 years old.

Must be on board towing vessel. Must be at least 12 years
of age. Observer may be age 10 if a person 21 years of
older is on board the towing vessel. Displays the ski flag
when the skier is down.

Allowed sunrise to sunset.

Allowed sunrise to sunset

Allowed sunrise to sunset.

The towing vessel must have sufficient capacity, rated for
three or more persons.

The operator must be at least 14 years of age, except when
the operator is age 12 or 13. Then, a person, age 21 or
older, on board the towing vessel for supervision.

Every year, many people are injured or killed as a result of operator inattention, Age
boating under the influence, illegal skiing practices, and traveling at excessive speeds Required
often at night, in congested waters, or around blind curves in the river. To Wear:

Operator inexperience is another problem in the region. Boaters often do not know PWC:
the proper action to take when approaching other boaters in crossing or head-on

situations. This is especially important on this congested waterway.
Towed
Another dangerous practice is bow riding, which is both unsafe Devices:
and illegal. Passengers riding on the front of a boat can be
killed or severely injured by a boat’s propeller if they fall,
slip or are thrown into the water. The law restricts riding Flag:
on the bow, gunwale or transom of a powerboat where
there is no protective railing or other deterrent to falling
overboard or if riding on the bow is an obvious danger. Observer:
Make sure you enjoy your trip to the Colorado River. Towing
Remember that if it’s your boat, it’s your responsibility so Others e
become familiar with the laws and characteristics of the
area--the following chart displays common boating laws and Vesscfl
, . . Capacity
each state’s requirements. You should also take a boating safety
course. Taking a course will help you keep everyone safe, help
you avoid a citation, and possibly even get you a discount on your boat Db
insurance. For more information on boating safety courses or classes visit www.
BoatColoradoRiver.com. Remember, Safe Boating is BIG Fun! BUI:

.08 BAC.

.08 BAC

.08 BAC

BOATING SAFETY HINTS

* Wear a life jacket

« Take a boating safety class

« Carry all your required safety gear

+ Know your boat and its limitations

* Follow the boating “rules of the road”

* Be aware of weather and water conditions
* Boat sober and be considerate

of other boaters i
Arizona

Game & Fish
Department
www.azgfd.gov
602/942-3000

* Keep the waterways clean

Nevada

California
Department Department
of Boating of Wildlife
and Waterways www.boatnevada.org

www.dbw.ca.gov
888/326-2822

Is BIG FUN!

702/486-5127
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NAVIGATION RULES AND AIDS

The main purpose of navigational rules is to prevent collisions and other
avoidable accidents, such as grounding in poor visibility, injuring people in

the water, and damaging property.

While under way, boat operators are required to keep a proper lookout for
other vessels, light and sound signals, obstructions, and swimmers.

* Do not enter restricted areas
and do not moor to buoys
other than a specially marked
mooring buoy.

Never obstruct or anchor in
a channel, launching area, or
route, or interfere with the

Do not exceed 5 miles per
hour within 100 feet of a
swimmer, or 200 feet of a
swimming beach, a swimming
tloat, a diving platform,

a lifeline, or a dock with boats
tied to it.
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travel of other boats. Whenever you are traveling
through a narrow channel or
coming around a bend where

it is hard to see oncoming traffic,

always keep to the right side.

BOAT-TO-BOAT COMMUNICATION

You have three ways to communicate between vessels: Light signals,
sound signals, and radio. The most common method is radio, but
you also need to know how to communicate using light and sound.

MEETING A BoAT HEAD-TO-HEAD

Signal your intention to pass port to port by sounding one short
(I1-second) blast of the horn.

*  Signal your intention to pass starboard to starboard by sounding
two short (1-second) blasts.

When using a light signal at night, a 1-second light flash equals
a l-second sound blast.

Meeting Head-to-Head Meeting at Right Angles
Stand-On

@ Give-Way %@
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WHEN APPROACHING AT RIGHT ANGLES

AND AT RISK OF COLLISION

The boat on the right is the stand-on vessel—the other boat is the
give-way vessel.

The stand-on is the privileged vessel and must hold its course
and speed.

The give-way vessel must direct its course to starboard and pass the
stand-on vessel astern. If necessary, the give-way vessel should slow,
stop, or reverse.

You should never turn your vessel to port during a crossing
situation. Doing so may result in a serious collision.
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