The information in this pamphlet is abbreviated from Arizona state law and Arizona Game and Fish Commission regulations. It is designed to provide
a quick reference to boating rules. Information on boating and the Arizona Game and Fish Department boating education class schedule can be
found on our Web site, azgfd.gov, or by calling (602) 789-3235. If you have any questions, please contact any Arizona Game and Fish Department
office or call (602) 942-3000.

DEFINITIONS

* Person means any individual or group of individuals.

» Watercraft means any boat designed to be propelled on water by machinery, oars, paddles, or wind action upon a sail.

» Waterway means any body of water on which a watercraft can be navigated.

» Wakeless speed means a speed that does not create a wake, and is no more than 5 mph.

» Motorized watercraft means any watercraft that is propelled by machinery whether or not the machinery is the principal source of propulsion.

« Aids to navigation means buoys, beacons, or other fixed objects designed to direct navigation.

» Regulatory marker means any anchored or fixed marker on or near the water, other than aids to navigation, including markers to indicate
swimming areas, speed zones, danger points, wakeless areas, keep-out areas, mooring buoys and general information.

* Underway means that a watercraft on public waters is not at anchor, is not made fast to the shore, or is not aground.

» Wear means to be worn and fastened according to the manufacturer’s design or recommended use and adjusted for a snug fit.

Any person being towed behind a watercraft shall wear a buoyant belt or personal flotation device. A buoyant belt is not a U.S. Coast Guard
approved flotation device.

EQUIPMENT

Personal flotation devices (life jackets)

All watercraft, except sailboards and certain racing shells or rowing sculls, must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved personal flotation
device (PFD), type I, Il, 1, or V, for each person on board. Such devices must be in good and serviceable condition, readily accessible and must fit
the intended wearer. All watercraft 16 feet and longer shall have one type IV throwable PFD on board. When operating a personal watercraft, all
persons on board shall wear a type |, Il, or Ill PFD.

All children 12 years and younger shall wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved type |, Il, or lll PFD while underway on any vessel.

Fire extinguishers

All watercraft smaller than 26 feet and using any volatile liquid having a flashpoint of 110 degrees or less for fuel shall have on board and readily
accessible at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved type B-I fire extinguisher if any of the following conditions exist:

* Inboard engine

« Closed compartments where portable fuel tanks may be stored

* Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which are not completely filled with flotation materials

* Closed living spaces

* Closed stowage compartments in which combustible or flammable materials are stored

« Permanently installed fuel tanks (fuel tanks secured so they cannot be moved in case of fire or other emergency shall be considered permanently
installed)

* A fixed fire extinguishing system installed in the engine compartment All watercraft 26—-40 feet long shall have on board and readily accessible:

« At least two type B-I fire extinguishers or at least one type B-Il fire extinguisher or « At least one type B-I fire extinguisher if a fixed fire extinguishing
system is installed in the engine compartment Watercraft 40—65 feet must carry at least three U.S. Coast Guard approved type B-I fire extinguishers
or at least one B-I and one B-Il fire extinguisher. If a fixed fire extinguisher system is installed in the engine compartment, there must be at least two
type B-Il or at least one type B-II fire extinguisher on board and readily accessible.

OPERATION

Reckless operation

A person shall not operate a watercraft while allowing a person to ride on the gunwales, transom, covered or closed bow of a watercraft propelled by
machinery operating in excess of wakeless speed. No person shall operate a watercraft in such a manner as to show willful or wanton disregard for
other persons or property.

Operation age

Except in case of emergency, no person under the age of 12 years may operate a watercraft propelled by a motor of greater than eight horsepower,
unless the person’s parent or legal guardian or at least one person who is 18 years or older is present on the watercraft. Jet powered personal
watercraft (PWC) are over the eight horsepower limit.

Speed restrictions
No person shall operate a watercraft at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under prevailing conditions or in excess of posted limit.
Speed shall be controlled to avoid collision or creating dangerous wake.

Operation under the influence

No person under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs shall be in physical control of any watercraft. The legal level

of intoxication is .08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Extreme OUI is .15 BAC and above. A person found guilty of an OUI violation could receive
a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to six months. Subsequent convictions and aggravated OUI may carry even more severe penalties.



LIGHTS

The stern running light is a white 360-degree

Either inland or international rules for lights must be observed between sunset and sunrise lght and is not to be obstructed by

when underway or adrift. Inland rules for lights on motorboats less than 26 feet prescribe a any objects on the crafl.

red and green combination light forward and a bright white light aft to show all around the ‘
horizon (360 degrees). Motorboats 26—65 feet shall display a 225-degree (112.5 degrees -‘-:d"i‘

on each side of the watercraft) unbroken white light above and forward of the stern light dé
along the centerline of the watercraft. The stern light shall display a 135-degree unbroken

white light placed as near to the stern as practicable. Separate sidelights showing red
112.5 degrees to port (left) and green 112.5 degrees to starboard (right) shall be used and ¥ your craft is smaller than 40 feet,
fitted with screens to prevent them from being seen across the bow. you may cisplay lights as shown below:

International rules for lights on motorboats smaller than 40 feet prescribe a red and green _ o
combination light or separate red and green lights forward, a white 225-degree light forward AED SR

. . . L . 112 5=degree 112, S=degree
and 3 feet higher than the colored lights, and a white 135-degree light aft. All sailboats foht ~—a o liaht
without an auxiliary engine on board shall display separate red and green lights forward and ' N
a white 135-degree light aft. Manually propelled watercraft shall carry a lantern or flashlight
showing a light that shall be exhibited in sufficient time to avert collision. Lights are not
necessary on waters where power craft are prohibited. A white 360-degree light must be
displayed from sunset to sunrise any time a watercraft is anchored other than in a special
anchorage area. WHITE

225-degree
light

Diver flags
A red flag with a single white diagonal stripe, running from staffhead to opposite lower corner,
shall be recognized as a diver down flag, indicating there are divers below the surface.

Muffling devices

All watercraft must be equipped with effective muffling equipment in good working order. Unless

operating under a special permit, no person shall operate a watercraft that emits a sound level in

excess of 86 decibels on the “A” weighted scale as measured 50 feet or more from the watercraft.
— WHIE

Overloading 135-degree light

All watercraft 20 feet or smaller in length sold or manufactured in Arizona after January 1, 1971,

must have a capacity plate attached and readily visible from the position normally occupied by the By splitting the stem light in this manner, the glare

operator of the watercraft. No watercraft may be loaded beyond the safe carrying capacity in the cockpit will be greatly reduced.

indicated on this plate. Such plates are not required on canoes and sailboats.

Watercraft and boat engine restrictions

Watercraft are prohibited from entering the following waters during the dates designated: The posted portions of the Aqua Fria arm of Lake Pleasant
from mid-December to mid-June. Motor restrictions do not apply to boats of governmental agencies while on official duty or to emergency standby
boats operated by lake concessionaires when approved by the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

REGULATORY MARKERS AND AIDS TO NAVIGATION

No person shall operate a watercraft on the waters of the state contrary to the manner
prescribed by lawful regulatory markers. No person shall moor or fasten a watercraft to
any regulatory marker, or remove, obstruct, or interfere with any regulatory marker. All
regulatory markers are colored white and orange. Geometric shapes painted on regulatory
markers shall indicate:

1. A diamond means danger.

2. A diamond with a cross inside means no boats allowed. INFORMATION CD%FI:::E\:;‘FA
3. Circles mean boats are subject to restrictions indicated inside the circle. NO SKI

4. A square or rectangular shape with directions inside gives specific directions.

On a well-defined channel, aids to navigation shall be solid colored buoys unless otherwise
marked. A buoy marking the left side of a channel (looking upstream or up lake away from

the dam) shall be green. Buoys marking the right side of the channel shall be all red. Such
buoys shall be in pairs, marking each side of the channel, except that on an irregularly defined
channel they may be staggered on alternate sides of the channel. Watercraft should pass
between the buoys except when to do so would create a hazard to other watercraft.

A buoy with alternate black and white stripes means the watercraft should not pass between DANGER BOATS KEEP QUT
the buoy and the shore.

Navigational markers may be equipped with flashing lights.

Mooring buoys shall be white with a horizontal blue band halfway between the top of the buoy
And the water line.

Interference with navigation

No person shall operate a watercraft or swim in a manner that unnecessarily or unreasonably

interferes with other watercraft or within areas used for launching. Anchoring or swimming in OBSTRUCTION

heavily traveled channels or blocking launching areas shall constitute such interference. DO NOT PASS BETWEEN
BUOY AND SHORELINE

MOCFING BUOY




BOATING TIPS

* Be courteous. The less time you spend on the boat ramp or dock, the more boaters will appreciate you. Sailboats are particularly difficult
to launch and retrieve.

» The skipper or operator of a watercraft is responsible for any damage caused by the boat’s wake.

» Keep a lookout for other watercraft, skiers, reefs, snags and other floating objects.

* Make water your beverage of choice. Arizona watercraft law enforcement agencies have adopted a zero-tolerance policy for boating while
intoxicated.

» Reduce your wake - especially in the area of swimmers, fishermen, sailboat regattas or watercraft at anchor.

Waterskiing

No watercraft having in tow a person or persons on waterskis, surfboard or similar contrivance shall be operated unless the watercraft is occupied by
at least two persons: an operator and an observer. The observer shall display a bright or brilliant orange or red flag visible from all directions, no less
than 12 x 12 inches on a side and mounted on a handle, at all times when the skier is down in the water and not actually skiing. The observer must
be physically capable and mentally competent to act as an observer. No person shall be on waterskis or similar contrivances in a careless or
reckless manner so as to endanger life or property, or in a manner contrary to that designated by regulatory markers. Waterskiing is prohibited
between sunset and sunrise.

Blocking launching areas
No person shall camp or park on any boat-launching area or otherwise restrict or prevent free access to the launching area.

Dumping refuse, littering
It is illegal to dump refuse, rubbish or garbage on the waterways or shorelines of this state. Watercraft sewage systems that dump directly into the
water must be sealed. Discharge of any sewage system into waterways or onto shorelines is illegal.

Accident: duties of operator

The operator of any watercraft involved in an accident that results in injury or property damage shall immediately stop such watercraft, give his name
and address and the name and address of the owner to the injured party, render reasonable assistance and promptly report the incident to the
nearest law enforcement agency. A report must be filed directly to the Arizona Game and Fish Department within 48 hours if the accident resulted in
a death. If it resulted in any injury beyond first aid or property damage of more than $500 then the report must be filed to the department within five
days. Reports should be sent to: Arizona Game and Fish Department, Boating Law Administrator, 2221 W. Greenway Road, Phoenix, AZ, 85023.

Carbon monoxide poisoning

When operating any type of watercraft, be careful when running downwind (the wind blowing toward the bow), as exhaust gases may blow back
onboard. The best prevention of carbon monoxide poisoning is knowledge about carbon monoxide. Everyone should know the symptoms of, and
treatment for, carbon monoxide poisoning.

Personal watercraft (PWC)

Personal watercraft means a watercraft that is smaller than 16 feet, propelled by machinery powering a water jet pump, and designed to be operated
by a person who sits, stands or kneels on rather than sitting inside the watercraft. When operating a personal watercraft, all persons on board shall
wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved type |, Il, or lll personal flotation device. PFDs must be worn and fastened according to the manufacturer’s
design or recommended use and be adjusted for a snug fit. If the craft has a lanyard type cutoff switch, it must be attached to the operator.

A PWC shall not be loaded beyond its safe carrying capacity or the manufacturer’'s recommended limits. When operating a personal watercraft you
must not act in a reckless or negligent manner endangering the life or property of another person. In Arizona, simultaneously committing two or more
of the following acts is considered reckless operation:

 Operating a personal watercraft within 60 feet of another watercraft above wakeless speed.

» Operating a personal watercraft within the vicinity of a motorboat in a manner that obstructs the visibility of either operator.

* Heading into the wake of a motorboat that is within 60 feet and causing one-half or more of the length of the personal watercraft to leave the water.
» maneuvering quickly, turning sharply or swerving unless the maneuver is necessary to avoid a collision within 60 feet of another watercraft.

Navigation rules
The operator of a watercraft under power shall give way to any craft not under power, unless the craft not under power is overtaking the powered
craft.

The operator of a watercraft shall give way to watercraft entering its danger zone, which is an area from straight ahead to 112.5 degrees to
starboard side, in cases where a collision might occur. This is roughly the same angle as the green or starboard side running lights.

A watercraft may pass on either side when overtaking another, but the operator of the passing watercraft shall be responsible for any collision and
for his wake. The passing watercraft is the give way vessel. Watercraft being overtaken shall maintain course and speed.

Watercraft meeting head to head shall pass portside to portside by turning starboard when it is practical to do so.
Normal traffic on waterways shall be counterclockwise.
Watercraft leaving the shoreline shall give way to watercraft approaching the shoreline.

If you have any questions, please contact any Arizona Game and Fish Department office or call (602) 942-3000.



