Section II

Boating Accident Program

2000 California Boating Safety Report

Exhibit II-2
2000 Boating Accidents by County*


County Number of
Accidents
Number of
Injuries
Number of
Fatalities
Amount of
Property Damage
Alameda1132$11,300
Amador531$9,600
Butte18120$25,200
Calaveras35252$97,800
Colusa410$3,800
Contra Costa31141$631,450
Del Norte300$317,800
El Dorado16120$26,800
Fresno1761$53,550
Glenn110$2,600
Humboldt331$2,300
Kern1160$29,350
Kings100$1,600
Lake16151$12,900
Lassen101$0
Los Angeles99482$198,300
Madera980$8,100
Marin1102$69,200
Mariposa320$2,000
Mendocino101$550
Merced120$0
Modoc103$0
Mono120$0
Monterey921$24,350
Napa29211$74,100
Nevada420$7,700
Orange**4680$128,100
Placer26130$54,800
Plumas431$0
Riverside27262$35,900
Sacramento1042$26,100
San Bernardino73535$202,900
San Diego81481$189,550
San Francisco721$58,100
San Joaquin63333$151,600
San Luis Obispo1772$32,450
San Mateo430$2,000
Santa Barbara610$16,100
Santa Clara14151$45,050
Santa Cruz612$9,750
Shasta51370$94,450
Sierra101$0
Siskiyou210$550
Solano15113$35,300
Sonoma610$23,000
Stanislaus1280$48,800
Sutter440$14,000
Tehama400$10,500
Trinity15132$0
Tulare950$27,100
Tuolumne33232$115,450
Ventura1553$54,600
Yolo550$26,800
Yuba960$25,100
TOTAL90652451$3,038,400

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention beyond first aid; damage to a vessel or other property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel. Not all accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobserverance or ignorance of the reporting law.

** The increase in boating accidents in Orange County when compared with accident totals appearing in reports prior to 1999 is not due to an increase in accidents, but rather an increase in the reporting of accidents to the Department.

California Division of Boating and Waterways, May 2001