California Boating and Waterways Commission Announces Inductee into Hall of Fame

Contact:  Gloria Sandoval (916) 651-5692

January 24, 2013

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - The California Boating and Waterways Commission (Commission) yesterday inducted Ted Warburton into their “Hall of Fame”. This honor is bestowed upon unique individuals who in their own right have become ‘Champions’ of and for California’s boating community.

“Ted Warburton has dedicated nearly his entire working career to serving California’s recreational boaters,” stated Department of Boating and Waterway’s Boating Facilities Division Chief Steve Watanabe. “His dedication has earned him the respect of the Brisbane boating community as well as of his colleagues across the State of California.”

Ted earned his bachelor’s degree in management from St. Mary’s College and actually started his working career in emergency medicine as a paramedic. In 1983 he was hired by the Santa Cruz Harbor Patrol because of his boating and paramedic experience eventually becoming a sworn peace officer on the Santa Cruz Harbor Police Department.

Twelve years later he became the senior harbormaster of Santa Cruz Harbor followed by becoming the harbormaster for Coyote Point Marina in San Mateo County. In 2003, Ted accepted an executive position with the City of Brisbane and became their Director of Marina and Aquatic Services finally retiring in December 2012.

He has been involved with the California Association of Harbor Masters and Port Captains since 1995 serving as the president in 2003, and numerous times on the Board of Directors and as the chair of the Legislative Committee. Ted continues to remain active with the Port Captains Association today.

Ted holds life memberships in both the California Boating Safety Officers Association and the California Association of Harbor Masters and Port Captains. In 2011, the Association of Harbor Masters and Port Captains bestowed upon Ted one of their most prestigious awards, Harbormaster of the Year.


Grant and loan applications are submitted to the Department of Boating and Waterways and funding for approved projects is derived from the taxes paid by boaters on the purchase of vessel gasoline and the repayment of principal and interest on department-made loans.

The department provides grants to a county, city, district or other public agency for the construction of small craft boating launching facilities and loans to local agencies for the construction of small craft harbors. These grants and loans require the consent of the seven-member Boating and Waterways Commission.