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UPDATE: Mussel Fee Paid sticker requirements for California registered vessels

As of January 1, 2014, California registered recreational vessels using fresh water bodies within the
state are required to display a “Mussel Fee Paid” sticker on the hull next to the current registration
sticker as follows:
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2014-2015 Mussel Fee Paid sticker sample (NOTE: Color matches registration sticker color):
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Exemptions:

Vessels exempt from payment of the mussel fee shall be limited to the following:
(a) Vessels used exclusively in marine waters (California coastal and bay waters, which include
Suisun Bay) as defined in CCR Title 14, Div. 4, Ch. 1, Art. 1.5, Sec. 5207 (a).
(b) Vessels exempt from payment of a registration fee as defined in Vehicle Code 9851,
irrespective of whether the vessel is operated in fresh or marine waters.

Enforcement:
All California recreational vessels registered under California Vehicle Code sections 9850, 9853 and

9862 must properly display the Mussel Fee Paid. Vessels failing to properly display those stickers
may be cited by law enforcement.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Quagga Zebra Mussel Infestation Prevention Program

Recent legislation requires the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to collect fee of $8 per year ($16 total
on the two-year registration renewal) on behalf of the Department of Parks and Recreation Division of
Boating and Waterways (DBW) on all recreational vessels subject to registration in the State of California.
The original legislation set the fee to be no greater than $10 a year per boat and directed a Technical
Advisory Group made up of specific interested parties to advise DBW on what the fee should be.
Following meetings with the group, DBW determined that the fee should be set at $8 per year ($16 total
on the two-year registration period). This fee is mandatory and shall be collected every other year.

Boats used only in marine water (salt water) such as along the California coast and bay areas such as
San Francisco, Suisun, Monterey or San Diego are exempt from the Mussel Fee requirement. Fresh
water boaters must pay the Mussel Fee and display the Mussel Fee Paid sticker even if the vessel is
only used in one lake.

Moneys collected via the Mussel Fee will aid infestation prevention and education efforts through grant
funding administered by DBW, to eligible agencies for quagga and zebra mussel prevention programs at
reservoirs that allow boating and fishing recreation, and the Mussel Fee provides supplementary funding
for California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) quagga and zebra mussel prevention activities.

The fee will fund prevention programs at uninfested reservoirs open to the public for recreational
activities. A prevention program, per the Fish and Game Code Section 2302, is a program intended to
prevent the introduction of quagga and zebra mussels into California waters. Section 2302 applies to
entities that own or manage reservoirs open to the public. Prevention programs must include an
assessment of the reservoir vulnerability to the introduction of mussels, public education, monitoring for
mussels, and management of the recreational activities allowed at the reservoir. These grants will help
water managers develop prevention programs, implement programs, or expand upon an existing
program.

Paying the Mussel Fee does not entitle vessels to bypass inspections or fees for inspections conducted
by individual water managers. Boaters should contact the particular water body office directly for
information regarding their inspection program and requirements prior to visiting. A list of watercraft
inspection programs and contact information is available at:
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/invasives/quaggamussel/ .

DBW'’s website (http://www.dbw.ca.gov/PDF/FAQ-QuaggaFee.pdf) has additional information on the
Mussel Fee.

DBW CONTACT:

Robin Turgeon Aquatic Weed Unit/Quagga Mussel
Prevention California State Parks Division of Boating &
Waterways

(916) 327-1851
Robin.turgeon@parks.ca.gov




