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Mussel Fee Paid sticker requirements for California registered vessels 
 
As of January 1, 2014, California registered recreational vessels using fresh water bodies within the 
state are required to display a “Mussel Fee Paid” sticker on the hull next to the current registration 
sticker as follows: 
 

 
 
 

2017 Mussel Fee Paid sticker sample (NOTE: Color matches registration sticker color) 
 

 
 

Exemptions: 
 
Vessels exempt from payment of the mussel fee shall be limited to the following: 

 
(a) Vessels used exclusively in marine waters (California coastal and bay waters, which 
includes Suisun Bay up to and west of Chipps Island) as defined in CCR Title 14, Division 4, 
Chapter 1, Article 1.5, Section 5207 (a). 
(b) Vessels exempt from payment of a registration fee as defined in Vehicle Code 
9851, irrespective of whether the vessel is operated in fresh or marine waters (salt 
water). 
 

Paying the Mussel Fee does not entitle vessels to bypass inspections or fees for inspections 
conducted by individual reservoir owners or managers. Boaters should contact the particular 
reservoir office directly for information regarding their inspection program and their requirements 
prior to visiting. A list of watercraft inspection programs and contact information is available at: 
http://www.dfg.ca.gov/invasives/quaggamussel/ . 

 
 

 

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/invasives/quaggamussel/


Enforcement: 
 

Proper display of numbers and registration stickers now includes proper display of the Mussel Fee 
Paid stickers, and is part of the California vessel registration requirements under California Vehicle 
Code sections 9850, 9853 and 9862.  Vessels failing to properly display those stickers may be cited 
by law enforcement.  Marine law enforcement shall utilize a wide variety of enforcement strategies 
that include education, warning and citations for violations of this regulation. 
 
Eligibility: 
 
Moneys collected via the Mussel Fee will aid in infestation prevention and education efforts 
through grant funding administered by DBW.  This grant is open to eligible agencies that own or 
manage a reservoir that permits recreational activities such as boating and fishing, is open to the 
public and currently uninfested with the dreissenid mussel.   
 
 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
Quagga and Zebra Mussel Infestation Prevention Program 
 
Recent legislation requires the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to collect fee of $8 per year 
($16 total on the two-year registration renewal) on behalf of the Department of Parks and Recreation 
Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) on all recreational vessels subject to registration in the 
State of California. The original legislation set the fee to be no greater than $10 a year per boat and 
directed a Technical Advisory Group made up of specific interested parties to advise DBW on what 
the fee should be.  Following meetings with the group, DBW determined that the fee should be set at 
$8 per year ($16 total on the two-year registration period). This fee is mandatory and shall be 
collected every other year. 
 
Boats used only in marine water (salt water) such as along the California coast and bay areas 
such as San Francisco, Suisun Bay up to and west of Chipps Island, Monterey or San Diego are 
exempt from the Mussel Fee requirement. Fresh water boaters must pay the Mussel Fee and 
display the Mussel Fee Paid sticker even if the vessel is only used in one lake. 
 
The fee will fund prevention programs at uninfested reservoirs open to the public for recreational 
activities. A prevention program, per the Fish and Game Code Section 2302, is a program 
intended to prevent the introduction of quagga and zebra mussels into California waters. Section 
2302 applies to entities that own or manage reservoirs open to the public. Prevention programs 
must include an assessment of the reservoir vulnerability to the introduction of mussels, public 
education, monitoring for mussels, and management of the recreational activities allowed at the 
reservoir. These grants will help water managers develop prevention programs, implement 
programs, or expand upon an existing program. 
 
DBW’s website (http://www.dbw.ca.gov/PDF/FAQ-QuaggaFee.pdf) has additional information on the 
Mussel Fee. 
 
DBW CONTACT: 
 
Robin Turgeon, Grant Administrator 
Quagga & Zebra Mussel Infestation Prevention 
Aquatic Invasive Species Branch  
California State Parks  
Division of Boating & Waterways 
(916) 327-1851 
Robin.turgeon@parks.ca.gov   
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