Marine Law Enforcement Training MOU
The California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) may have funds available to reimburse non-qualified POST employees for expenses incurred while successfully completing division sponsored training.
Requests for reimbursement of expenses incurred by non-POST qualified employees will only be paid under the following conditions:
- Employees must successfully complete a DBW-approved, POST certified training.
- Employee must have designated authority under Chapter 4.5 California Penal Code to enforce California boating law and regulations.
- A fully executed MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) must exist between DBW and the agency requesting reimbursement.
- A cover letter requesting reimbursement must be submitted within 45-days from the last day of the completed training.
(Note: Agencies requesting reimbursement shall recognize that the June 15th expiration date of the MOU has precedence over the 45-day filing period. As a result there may be occasions where an agency will not have the full 45-days to file a claim for reimbursement).
- A completed travel expense claim (TEC) must be submitted. Original signatures are required from both the employee(s) who completed the training and the officer of the agency authorizing the claim. A copy of the Enrollment & Material Fee Receipt must be included for each student.
The TEC will provide a detailed description of dates, departures times, return times, site locations, lodging costs, mileage costs (if applicable) to and from the training site, etc. Subsistence will not be allowed if expenses are incurred within 50 round trip miles of the employee’s headquarters address.
Lodging and mileage costs are reimbursable, providing receipts and official mileage documentation is submitted. Meal receipts are not required and will be reimbursed according to POST Plan IV. A sample expense claim is provided in this packet.
Agencies having questions or needing additional information to confirm qualifying expenditures can contact Ken Newby at (916) 327-1835.